5 28.10.15
3 23.10.15
2 23.10.15
1 22.10.15
7 22.10.15
2 22.10.15
1 21.10.15
First Page Previous Page Page 22 / 299 Next Page Last Page

How Hard Will it be for Me to get into Consulting with an Unusual Post-Grad Background?

#1 How Hard Will it be for Me to get into Consulting with an Unusual Post-Grad Background?
05/12/2015 16:24

blatchcorn

I want to move into consulting, but I have had a very non-standard career path. I set up my own business in my last year of university, got hired by a client then made redundant. Now I am working in a marketing agency as a stop-gap.

Any advice is really welcome. I am applying for Accenture, Capco, PA Consulting, BCG. I have considered quitting my current job to avoid racking up more post-grad experience or even doing a masters.

Here is my text-only cv:

PERSONAL PROFILE

I am an Aston University graduate with work experience in automobiles, FinTech and digital marketing. I have consistently scored highly in academics and have a proven track record of delivering commercial results. I am interested in technology, analytical decision-making and making the world more efficient.

EDUCATION

Aston University, BSc Marketing (Hons) with a Placement Year

Oct 2010 – Jun 2014

Results: First Class honours. Many modules are accredited by the CIM.

Truro College, A-levels

Sept 2008 – Jun 2010

English - A*, Business Studies – A, History – B, ICT - B

WORK EXPERIENCE

PPC Analyst – XXXXXXXXXX

Sept 2015 – Present

XXXXXX is a world-class biddable media agency, using data-driven marketing to deliver exceptional results to clients.

- Management of the Ben Sherman account, producing a return on ad spend (ROAS) of ~700%.

- Campaign optimization, including split testing and statistical data analysis, of Exact Online (B2B SaaS). Gained expert-level Excel skills and became comfortable with large, complex data sets.

- Monitoring budgets and forecasting sale and costs based on first-hand statistics.