7 17.12.14
4 17.12.14
1 17.12.14
First Page Previous Page Page 35 / 305 Next Page Last Page

How Valuable is a Brand on a CV?

#1 How Valuable is a Brand on a CV?
07/11/2014 09:42

ManicRower

I’m a technology consultant who originally started off in industry (public sector) where I stayed for four years, before joining a small tech consultancy where I’ve been for circa 18 months.

Academically, I am a ‘solid B-grade’ across my GCSEs/A-Levels and a 2:1 at a non-russell group university. It’s probably fair to say I coasted whilst concentrating on ‘university life.’

Since then I’ve grown up a bit and professionally have been reasonably successful. I’ve been promoted 3 times across 5ish yrs (once in consultancy), have delivered well and sold well even at my relatively low grade where selling is not the primary goal. I work with blue-chip clients (primarily Financial Services) doing engagements I by and large enjoy, I have a good reputation within my firm and am on their high performer scheme.

My question is this; How important is it for me to get a consulting ‘brand’ such as a Big 4, Accenture, IBM, CapGemini or even a PA on my CV? Is it even possible with my average education background?

The long-term ambition (think 7-10yrs) is to head to industry at Mid/Senior Mgt-level to enable a move away from London when my partner and I have children. Is this possible without a big name on my CV? Or am I placing too much value in what a big name brings and should instead focus on the quality of work at my current employer and finishing the high performer scheme?

I feel somewhat indebted to my current employer as they took a chance on me when very few consultancies would, and have provided me with good training, work and a career path. However, I can’t shake the feeling that if I got an opportunity to work for a bigger company that is more widely known, that this would be more advantageous to me in the long-term.