5 30.03.11
2 30.03.11
3 30.03.11
4 29.03.11
2 29.03.11
2 29.03.11
7 29.03.11
First Page Previous Page Page 78 / 296 Next Page Last Page

Too much being made of long hours/working hard etc. Doesn't sound right.

#1 Too much being made of long hours/working hard etc. Doesn't sound right.
18/11/2010 14:36

Boat

I won't be posting on here for much longer - as mentioned previously, I've decided to go down the IB route.

Before I leave, I just want to say that I think too much is being made of long hours and working too hard at the expense of lifestyle/health etc.

I'm not experienced in the workplace, but I would guess that the people who are placing an emphasis on this aspect are those who don't really know "how to win friends and influence people". The reality is you need to have a strategy with people, too. If you have a shitty task to do that will defer your exit on any particular date from 18:00 to 20:00 - get someone else to do it without showing them what you are up to. Tell the partner or SM that you think his football team should have won even though you think they were terrible etc.

I recommend that graduates don't take SOME of the posts on here seriously as so called seasoned professionals may have serious defects in their people skills which is preventing them from rising through the ranks, which in turn makes them look for an excuse such as "It's only b/c he does more hours than me" or "It's only b/c he doesn't take lunch breaks".

Sun Tzu didn't say "Do lots of hours, give up your lifestyle to advance" he said "If you know others and know yourself, you will not be imperiled in a hundred battles"

Adios Amigos.

Reply  Quote   

#2 RE: Too much being made of long hours/working hard etc. Doesn't sound right.
18/11/2010 14:44

rd to Boat (#1)

good riddance to you Boat, you won't be missed.

Seeing as you are a delicate little flower, I can't imagine you lasting too long in IB

Reply  Quote